Financial News: Europeans rank highly in Yale governance awards

William Hutchings
17 Jun 2011

Five Europeans have been named by Yale University among 11 rising stars in corporate governance, selected for their potential to lead the way into “a new era of corporate governance”.

The recipients are people under 40 years old who were nominated by their peers and selected by a committee of leaders from the Millstein Center for Corporate Governance and Performance at the Yale School of Management, the Open Compliance and Ethics Group, the International Corporate Governance Network, and Weil Gotshal & Manges.

Selection was based on criteria such as past accomplishments and thought leadership, future projects and endeavours, reputation among industry leaders, and potential to influence the industry.

The five are Erik Breen, head of responsible investing of Dutch bank Robeco; Catherine Howarth, chief executive, FairPensions; Arminta Saladziene, chairman of the management board, Nasdaq OMX Vilnius, and chairman of the board, Baltic Institute of Corporate Governance; Steve Waygood, head of sustainability research and engagement at Aviva Investors; and Lucy Marcus, chief executive of Marcus Venture Consulting and a non-executive director at more than one company.

Ira Millstein, senior associate dean for corporate governance at the Yale School of Management, said: “We are entering into a new era of corporate governance and this year’s honorees are among the next generation of leaders who will help define it.”

Those named took part in a reception at Yale on Wednesday evening and a conference on the two following days. They were unavailable for comment apart from Marcus, who said: “I’m floating on air. I care passionately about what I do anyway, but it’s so good to be recognised by my peers.”

Marcus is focused on the changing role of non-executive directors. She said: “It goes beyond corporate governance. It’s about the spirit of what happens in the board room, the dynamism and the diversity of thought and age and background. It’s important to have an open, public discussion about what goes on inside the board room and what should happen.”

The quartet adds to the list of Europeans who have been selected by the Millstein Center since it initiated the awards in 2008. Eighty-seven people have been nominated by the Millstein Center, 56 of them in 2008. This year’s nominees brings to the total from Europe up to 16; this is just under a fifth of the total, so this year’s haul of five nominees out of 11 is unusually high for Europe.

Earlier recipients from Europe have been:
Hans-Christoph Hirt, director and global head of corporate engagement at Hermes Equity Ownership Services;
Alexander Ikonnikov, chairman of the supervisory board at Russia’s Independent Directors Association;
Stefano Rossi, assistant professor of finance at Imperial College Business School;
Alexis Krajeski, associate director, governance and sustainable investment at F&C Investments;
Deborah Gilshan, corporate governance counsel at Railpen Investments;
Sagarika Chatterjee, senior analyst in governance and sustainable investment team at F&C Investments;
Bess Joffe, associate director, corporate governance, Hermes Equity Ownership Services;
Naheeda Rashid, corporate governance and engagement, Hermes Equity Ownership Services;
Hege Sjo, European governance and engagement, Hermes Equity Ownership Services;
Daniel Summerfield, co-head of responsible investment at the Universities Superannuation Scheme; and
Peter Taylor, head of corporate governance at Aberdeen Asset Management.


17 June 2011


Financial News

Europeans rank highly in Yale governance awards

In the Press Archive